Chubzilla Bests A Loaded DIRTcar Late Model Field

Everybody wants to be #1. Both figuratively and literally! Everybody wants to win and when picking car numbers, the #1 is always a popular choice. This is especially true in the DIRTcar Late Models. A quick scan of the Late Model roster last night reveals six different variations of the #1. The triple threat of World of Outlaws star Chub Frank (#1*), Five-Time Track Champion Lynn Geisler (in the iconic #1Cochran mount) and rising star Jared Miley (#H1) started third, fourth and fifth respectively, then battled in the top five for the entire duration of the 25-lap DIRTcar Late Model feature. But when flagman Donnie Gallagher waved the VP Racing Fuels checkered flag, it was “Chubzilla” celebrating in Sheetz Victory Lane.

Chub Frank used the weekend off from the grueling World of Outlaws Late Model Series road trip to break in a new car and get dialed in for the $30,000-to-win 4th Annual Firecracker presented by A loaded field of Late Models forced Frank to get on the gas at the drop of the green flag, but it was Doug Eck (whom started on the outside pole) that wook the early lead. Eck led the first five laps, before giving way to Geisler on lap six.

Behind the early leaders, the top seven cars were swapping positions back and forth as dictated by cautions, lapped traffic and other factors! Early leader Eck was shuffled back to fifth, as was Geisler after losing the lead. Doug Horton started on the inside pole, faded out of the top five, then come roaring back to the front mid-race. Despite the intense competition behind him, once out front, Frank would not be caught. Doug Horton, Jared Miley, Boom Briggs and Dave Hess Jr. all let Chub know they were there and hungry for the win, but when all was said and done, Frank was the top dog and won the DIRTcar Late Model feature.

Jared Miley showed a hint of using his kamikaze powerslide through turns three & four on both the white and checkered flag laps, but could not slide under and past the cagey veteran!  Opening Night feature winner Dave Hess Jr. maintained his Budweiser Points lead by finishing third.  All Stars Late Model Series star Boom Briggs ran around the top of the track with a heavy right foot to finish fourth ahead of Lynn Geisler in fifth.  2009 World of Outlaws Rookie of the Year Russell King also used the off weekend with the WoO LMS to get some seat time at the Action Track, finishing sixth in the process.  Unfortunately for Doug Horton, the checkered flag flew while he was in the back end of his back and forth cycle to the front and he finished in seventh.  The rest of the top ten consisted of Jared Hawkins, Chad Valone and Darren Peters.  Heat races were claimed by King, Hess and Swartzlander (driving the Detman #111).

DIRTcar Late Models Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (1*) Chub Frank, Bear Lake
  2. (H1) Jared Miley, South Park
  3. (44) Dave Hess Jr., Waterford
  4. (99B) Boom Briggs, Bear Lake
  5. (1C) Lynn Geisler, Cranberry Twp.
  6. (56K) Russell King, Bristolville, OH
  7. (46) Doug Horton, Uniontown
  8. (37) Jared Hawkins, Fairmont, WV
  9. (2V) Chad Valone, Warren
  10. (1P) Darren Peters, Fort Grie, Ont. CAN.
  11. (111) Brian Swartzlander, Leechburg
  12. (88) Chuck Sarver, West Sunburry
  13. (29K) Garrett Krummert, New Castle
  14. (03) Doug Eck, Corry
  15. (B1) Brandon Wearing, Callery
  16. (66) Todd Bachman, Natrona Heights
  17. (4) Alex Ferree, Saxonburg
  18. (72) Michael Norris, Sarver
  19. (J4) John Garvin Jr., Sarver
  20. (X) Tom Bateman Jr., Carnegie
  21. (33) Sean Puz, Springdale
  22. (25B) Mark Booth, Irwin
  23. (56) Denton Boyer, Punxsutawney
  24. (1J) Dave Murdick, Slippery Rock

 National Guard Heat Race Winners: Russell King, Dave Hess Jr., Brian Swartzlander


Web site developed and maintained by MWB Graphics & Web Design
All rights reserved - 2010